Tanzania_FlagThe flag of Tanzania was officially adopted on 30 June 1964. It was the merger of the the two flags of the independent countries Tanganyika and Zanzibar that merged to form Tanzania in April of 1964.

The green stripe symbolizes agriculture and the fertility of the land.
The black stripe represents the citizens of Tanzania.
The blue stripe stands for the Indian Ocean.
The yellow stripes represents the country’s mineral wealth.

The Facts

Capital:  Dar es Salaam

Population:  49,639,138 (2014 estimate)

Languages:  Kiswahili, Kiunguja, English, Arabic

Religions:  Mainland:  Christian 30%, Muslim 35%, indigenoud beliefs 35%

Zanzibar:    more than 99% Muslim

Literacy rate:  Male:  75.5%

Female:  60.8% (2010 census)


The United Republic of Tanzania is the union of Tanganyika and the Islands of Zanzibar since 1964 when the two individual countries achieved independence from the British and united on April 26 of said year to form Tanzania.  The country has more than 130 tribes, each speaking different languages.

The area was mostly inhabited by Bantu farmers from the west and south, and the Nilotes and related groups from the north, until Arab traders came in the eighth century introducing the slave trade.  Shortly after began the perpetual motion of colonization overthrow; the Portuguese in 1506, soon back to the Arabs, the German missionaries 1800s, and ultimately the British at the end of World War I, and finally in 1961, Tanganyikans established self-government, leading to independence.

Formerly a one-party state, Tanzania began changing its political system in 1993, and in 1995, the first democratic elections were held.  Zanzibar’s semi-autonomous status led to two contentious elections since 1995, which the ruling party won despite international claims of voting irregularities.  The formation of a government of their two leading parties succeeded in minimizing electoral tension in 2010.

Despite its problems with poverty, Tanzania is rich in natural resources and minerals; hydropower, tin, phosphates, iron ore, coal, diamonds, gemstones, gold, natural gas, and nickel.


There are three levels in Tanzania’s education system:  basic (two years pre-primary and seven years primary), secondary (four years junior and two years senior), and tertiary (three years).  Education is viewed as a source of livelihood options, providing skills, confidence, and the ability to be trained.  It offers you greater access to employment, gives you the opportunity for self-employment, and the chance for a consistent income and health care.


Holidays and Festivals

New Year’s Day:   January 1

Eid el Haj:  January 21 (a Muslim celebration)

Union Day:  April 26 (in 1964 on this day, Tanganyika and Zanzibar became a United Republic)

Saba Saba (Peasant’s Day):  July 7 ( This festival celebrates the founding of the Tanganyika African National Union in 1954)

Independence Day:  December 9 (Tanganyika won independence from the British on this day in 1963, so the day is celebrated by all Tanzanians)

Christtmas:  December 25 (A day usually spent with family and frriends; most Christians attend church services also)

Typical Foods

The most popular food in Tanzania is ugali, a porridge made by boiling cornmeal.  It is comparable to the grits eaten in the southern United States, and is often eaten with stew, vegetables, or meat.  The most commonly eaten meats are goat, chicken, and mutton.  Roasted corn is popular, and hot tea is the popular beverage and is always served when socializing.



Jambo (Hello)

Hujambo? (How are you?)

Sijambo. (I am fine.)

Jina langu ni… (My name is…)

Ahsante. (Thank you.)

Kwa Kheri. (Goodbye.)

Bei gani? (How much is this?)


Over 28% of Tanzania’s land is set aside as national parks, conservation areas, game and forest resreves, and as game controlled areas.  This includes the Selous Game Reserve.  It is a travel enthusiast’s dream, offering you the Big 5 (African elephant, Black rhinoceros, Cape buffalo, lion, and leopard), an incredible 1108 species of birds, a most prolific wildlife with 430 different species of animals, the cradle of humanity, and a stunning landscape.